Close Menu X
Navigate

Who We Are

Who We Are

In the spring of 1882, a handful of settlers met in an upper Natchez (now Naches) Valley home, where they organized the First Congregational Church of the Natchez Valley. The church was incorporated on May 27, 1887, and the first building was constructed in 1888. As attendance outgrew the facilities, expansions took place in 1914, 1926, and 1957. In 1960, the name of the church was changed to Lower Naches Congregational Bible Church, and in 1969 Memorial Bible Church became its name. A new church building was completed in January of 1970, and in 1994 the Education/Fellowship Hall was added. It has been said, “The buildings are not the true church—people are.” Likewise, the growth and change in buildings represent what has been happening at Memorial Bible Church over the last 130 years—growth and change in people. We had the great privilege to be led by our former senior pastor, David Pietsch, for 27 years. Today, MBC is a large-sized evangelical Christian Bible Church, with a Sunday attendance of 500 to 650.

  

OUR STAFF

  

Nate Wright

Lead Pastor
nwright@mbcyakima.com

Matt Cobb

Executive Pastor
mcobb@mbcyakima.com

Zac Clark

Associate Pastor - Music
zclark@mbcyakima.com

Bryan Elliott

Associate Pastor - Children's
belliott@mbcyakima.com

Jeff Kerns

Associate Pastor - Youth
jkerns@mbcyakima.com

Teresa Coscarart

Director of Women's Ministries
tcoscarart@mbcyakima.com

Pete Baxter

Facilities Director
pbaxter@mbcyakima.com

Kris Herting

Ministry Assistant
kherting@mbcyakima.com

Lynn DeVore

Bookkeeper
bookkeeper@mbcyakima.com

Jon Bliss

Web & Graphic Design
jbliss@jonderfin.com

Anders Clark

Intern - Music
 
   
   

OUR ELDERS

  

Ray Wolverton

Chairman, Elder

Craig O'Brine

Vice Chair, Edler

Jon Hainline

Secretary, Elder

Ken Mckee

Financial Liaison, Elder

Ryan Franke

Elder

Wayne Frudd

Elder

Garrett Dauer

Elder
 

Jesus calls qualified men to lead his church as elders, whom we also call pastors. Qualifications for eldership are found in 1 Timothy 3 and Titus 1, and include leading their families well, a record of serving Jesus well both in the church and in everyday life, a thorough knowledge of the Bible and a mature Christian walk, and a good reputation both in and out of the church. Our Pastor/Elders meet once a month for prayer and the study of Scripture, leading the vision of the church, caring for the people of the church, teaching, living lives that are exemplary, protecting the people of the church from false doctrine and teachers, and developing other leaders.

Have a question for your Elders, message them at MBCElderBoard@mbcyakima.com